Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

image

Sometimes, I take crappy cell phone pictures. You still get the point. Here’s a pie I made for Derek earlier this year. He insisted that rhubarb looked like “frog legs” and had no idea what the actual name was. Which is funny, considering how he works in a grocery store. His response is usually, “Dry goods babe, not produce!” I hadn’t made a pie in ages prior to this, and I had never made a strawberry-rhubarb pie on my own before. I was pretty glad on how it turned out. I could have wrapped the crust so it wouldn’t have burned so much; lesson learned for next time. On to the recipes I used!

Pie Crust:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
2 tbsp granulated white sugar
1 cup unsalted butter
1/4 water

Mix everything, kneed till well mixed, form two equal balls, cover and refrigerate till done with filling.

Filling:

1 pound rhubarb, cut into chunks
1 pound strawberries, cut into pieces
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated white sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp lemon juice

In a large bowl mix everything together. Grease pie pan. Roll out dough. Place dough in pie pan. Cut off excess. Add filling. Roll out remaining dough. Cut into long strips. Plop 1 or 2 tbsp butter on top of filling. Weave strips on top of pie. Preheat the oven to 400° F. Bake for 35 min until brown and juices are bubbling.

Things I would have done differently: Brush crust with egg wash, then sprinkle with sugar. Prevented the edges of the pie from browning too much, cover it with a foil ring.

Leave a comment